Life Stuff

Time Capsule

I’ve been thinking a lot about what to post the last couple of days. I’ve had a hard time mainly because I can’t get out of study-mode. I hate study-mode, by the way…I’m not that kinda girl. But you gotta do what you gotta do…

So I got to thinking. And for some reason that song that was popular in the 70s “Time in a Bottle” by Jim Croce has been stuck in my head all day long. Not really sure why. It’s the most random song that could be stuck in someone’s head.

Pretty 70s though, isn’t it? Gotta love it…

So I started thinking…what would I put in a time capsule? Now, if I’m gonna put stuff in a time capsule, I wouldn’t want people to dig it up right away. I would definitely want them to wait at least 50 years. Although, how hilarious would it be to put stuff in a time capsule, and then dig it up a week later. Like…”ohhhh my gosh, do you remember this?” as you pull out your Coldplay t-shirt that you got at their concert the week before.

It’s hard to think about though, what would you put in it? I guess it depends on who would dig it up. How does that even work? Do you just leave a note in a tree saying “Dig here”? That’s not creepy at all. If I found a note that said that I’d be like “hell no…you must be outta your damn mind!”

Well let’s say that I left a note for my grandchildren. Well, I’m not even sure that I want to have children so there’s a possibility that I won’t even have grandchildren. So, let’s say I leave a note for my brother/sisters grandchildren. Speaking of, how ridiculously confusing are family relationships like that. You know the whole if-you-get-married-to-someone-how-is-their-second-cousin’s-brother-related-to-you thing? I guess I would be their Great Aunt Emily. I would be a Great Aunt by the way. Cause I’m great :-).

Can you tell that I have study-brain?

Okay. So I’ve left a note for them. They dig up my time capsule 50-100 years after I’ve buried it as long as they haven’t paved paradise and put up a parking lot (ooohh dat dat dat). What would they find? I can tell you what they wouldn’t find. They would NOT find my music history books because nobody wants to remember that. They would not find my iPhone because I can’t go 50-100 years without it. They would not find my blankie that I sleep with every night because then I wouldn’t sleep at all.

What if I just put like, a bunch of trash in it? Like…gum wrappers and coke cans. How disappointed would my nieces and nephews be.

My disappointed nephew finding the random piece of paper that I colored on.

You know…I’m not a drinker. I don’t really like the taste of alcohol and I’m not a huge fan of the way it makes you feel when you drink it. But music history may just be the catalyst to my drinking problem.

I’ll think about this some more and get back to you on what I would put IN the time capsule. In the meantime, what would YOU put in the time capsule?

Until tomorrow, dear BFs!

3 thoughts on “Time Capsule”

  1. If you have watched the Hangover 2 recently, it makes sense why Time in a Bottle is stuck in your head. But Jim Croce is great :). I’m pretty sure I’d put some stuff in mine. I had an idea that you could put music and pictures on a flash drive, and then I realized….people won’t be using flash drives in 50 years, so that’s dumb.

    You also have to think about technology is changing! Geez, so much to consider!

Leave a Reply

