Life Stuff, Musical Experiences

The Pain in my Neck (Part 2)

Yesterday, I told you about my music theory entrance exam. Today I will talk about my music history entrance exam. As most of you know, I’m not a read and retain kinda gal. But I’ve been studying my rear end off for the past month and a half so I’m hoping that it paid off.

When I attended the review session they talked about “what will be on the entrance exam”. It was a little abstract and somewhat hard to follow; whereas the theory review session was very much this-is-what’s-going-to-be-on-the-test. I guess that’s kind of the nature of the history beast, though. There’s so much to cover it’s hard to go over that much information in one sitting…

Anyways, the history exam was after lunch. Will, Mariana, David, and I all went to lunch after the theory exam (and after we got our student IDs!) and after lunch, we decided to review some big-picture stuff before the exam. I was not as nervous as I thought I would be. I had the same thought for this exam that I had for the theory one — if I don’t know it now then I need the remedial class.

According to the review session the exam was supposed to contain matching, short answer, fill-in-the-blanks, and an essay. The test was passed out, I took a quick look-through to see what was on it. No essay! Sweet. Weird…but sweet!

I skipped around the test to see if I could find/remember answers to other questions while reading the questions on the whole test. I answered everything I knew without a doubt first. There were several different sections of the test. The matching consisted of matching composers with the genre in which they wrote. Or matching them with a certain event in music history/history in general — the Counter-Reformation. There was a section in which we had a list of five or six composers and we had to list a famous composition and the century it was composed. For the most part, I remembered the century that the composers lived during. But I could not, for the life of me, remember a composition by Liszt. All I remembered was that he wrote tone poems/symphonic poems and was the one who first pianist who called his performances “recitals” and made a program to correspond with the performance. So…that’s what I wrote. *shrugs* better than nothing! The other composers that I couldn’t remember were Josquin and Clara Schumann.

You know the one thing that always bothers me – centuries. Why are the centuries that correspond with the year one hundred years ahead. It drives me nuts because I always have to think “okay…the century is the one number ahead of the year.” And then I second guess myself…”….right? What century are we in now…the 21st…right?….” That’s not what I should be thinking about on a test…but I really had to think about it yesterday. It’s confusing to me.

This is confusing...we're in the 21st Century now....right....?

ANYways…some of the other questions were more generic asking to name the differences between German opera and Italian opera in the 19th century and things like that. For the most part, I think I knew what I was talking about. There were some questions where I had to make educated guesses. But I feel like, as long as they were educated guesses and not random that I have a chance! If I didn’t know the answer to the specific question, I put down what I knew about the subject. I figured maybe that’ll give me some credit. Probably not…but you never know!

So…a little over an hour into the two-hour test, the proctor stands up and says “it has been brought to my attention that some of you were given tests without the essay page attached. That’s a big problem…” I looked down at my test…knowing I was one that did not receive an essay. I was so close to not having to write an essay! Like… | – – – – – – – – – -| <– that close! Measure it with your fingers. I’m sure a lot of people turned in their exam without writing an essay. Turns out, you have to write two essays. So I had about 45 minutes to write two essays.

*panic*

I did my best with the time I was given. I wrote about the Notre Dame School and Beethoven’s Heilegenstadt Testament. I feel like I knew both of those topics really well. I don’t know. The entrance history exam could go either way — I really can’t say whether I feel like I passed or failed. I feel like I did my best and I think that’s the most important thing!

Victory dog is cheering me on!

I will find out today at noon whether I passed the tests and what classes I have to register for, etc. I’ll be sure to let you know as soon as I know something. The next hour and a half will definitely creep by as I wait anxiously for the results……

Until tomorrow, dear BFs!

PS – my neck is still sore. Sitting in auditorium chairs with those tiny desks taking a 2 1/2 hour exam and then a 2 hour exam is not the best for your neck. Ow….

1 thought on “The Pain in my Neck (Part 2)”

  1. Bahaha! I googled Liszt because that name was familiar, and his IMDB page says that he was “the most famous concert superstar of the 19th century.”

    Can you imagine. Picture: twenty screaming ladies. “Oh Franz, you are such a superstar!”, “Franz! Baby I love you!”, “I want your babies!” “Liszt for President!”

    I’m glad that your tests are over, and hopefully this helps brighten your days when you have to study Liszt in the future!

    btw…when is your fall break?

Leave a Reply

