Life Stuff, Musical Experiences

Lesson Number One

First and foremost, I don’t think I realized how hard it was going to be to continue posting once a day now that grad school is in full swing! I will do my best but I apologize for slacking on my goal of posting once a day :-(

Secondly, I had my first conducting lesson yesterday! It was good! I mean, I think if my first lesson is bad I should probably rethink the whole graduate school thing. So all-in-all, a good lesson! We discussed previous choir experiences, my self-assessment, and (most importantly) we chose my first piece!

Locus Iste by Anton Bruckner

I couldn’t find a good vocal recording of it but this should give you a good idea of what it sounds like.

We went through the first page and a half or so of the piece and she asked me how I would rehearse the piece and why. For the most part I think I did okay! I think I have good ideas and can build off of a good foundation. I’m looking forward to the upcoming year! I think I have a lot to learn and I’m excited about those opportunities! I’m slightly nervous about my first time conducting in front of the lab choir and terrified of my first time conducting in front of the big choir. But I’m sure that will all pass…

Sometimes I feel like I got into the program by accident because I have VERY little actual conducting experience and I’m worried that once they see me conduct for more than ten minutes that they’re going to regret their decision of letting me into their program. I know it’s probably silly but I feel like I have the least experience of the group so it worries me some.

All that being said, I’m also a very hard worker and will do whatever it takes to catch up (i.e., history review! Yeaaaaah!!!)

I hope your week started off well, my friends!

Until tomorrow(-ish), dear BFs!

Leave a Reply

