Life Stuff

Forever and a Wednesday

Wednesdays are the longest days in the world. Most people feel like this about Wednesdays…

I feel like this when I wake up on a Wednesday morning.

"I'm late! I'm late! To a very important date! No time to say hello, goodbye, I'm late, I'm late, I'm late!"

My Wednesdays begin 6:45 when my alarm sounds. I wake up, take care of the animals and myself and get ready for the long day. This morning, I had to get up and get ready for my FIRST TIME CONDUCTING IN FRONT OF THE LAB CHOIR!!! But more on that in a minute. I got dressed in my nice clothes, fed Autumn and Solstice and made sure I had everything for the day. Since Will doesn’t have a car at this moment, it’s even more crucial that I bring anything and everything with me the first time because there’s a good chance that if I need to come home to get something, he may have my car…

So, I get to school around 8:30 for my first class at 9:05. Today, I’m extra antsy because I’m conducting “Locus Iste” by Bruckner for the lab choir. The last couple of weeks we (the lab choir) hasn’t been meeting because since it is a combination of undergraduates and graduates, the undergraduates need a couple of weeks to get through the introductory parts of conducting. So last week, in my lesson with Dr Batey, she gave me a piece to work on to conduct today. Which, at the time, I didn’t really even think about. It wasn’t until Thursday or Friday when I realized “Oh my gosh, I have to conduct this piece in a class I’ve never been to, without a lesson with Dr Batey….” Slightly intimidating!? Yes. The answer is yes. That’s slightly intimidating. So since I didn’t know what to expect, I prepared (over-prepared, really) my piece for this morning. Conducting the actual piece went well, I suppose. I didn’t really know what to expect in the class to begin with so I didn’t know how to prepare the piece or what I should work on. Or anything really. I think that’s what made me the most nervous about the whole situation. But anyways, I digress…

After my 9:00 conducting class, I have about a fifty minute break in which I usually eat a small snack and sit down because I know I won’t have a break the rest of the day. At 11:00, I head to my next class, Theory Pedagogy, which usually lasts until about 12:10. My next class, Concert Choir, begins at 12:20 and goes until 2:10. Sometimes Dr Peterson lets us out early but most of the time we rehearse up until 1:30-2:00.

On normal Wednesdays, this would be the second time I get to breathe. Today, however, we held the first round of reVOLution auditions! So I went straight from Concert Choir rehearsal to the auditions. And directly from the auditions to Choral Lit. A two-hour class about choral literature, as if you were having a hard time guessing what we talked about in “Choral LIT”.

My last, and final break in the day is from 5:30-6:40. I usually wait for Will to get out of Orchestra rehearsal at 6:00 and we hang out until I have to go to church choir rehearsal at 7:00. Church choir lasts until 9:00. I usually get home around 9:30 or so.

Keep in mind that I leave my house at 8:00AM and don’t return home until 9:30PM. That’s a really long day. I’m sleepy. Since I’m sleepy and not entertaining, here’s a fun comic for you.

It’s times like this when I realize how exhausted I am, because I am still laughing at that comic even though I picked it out at the beginning of writing this post. “The token black key”…priceless!

Goodnight, dear BFs. Until another day…

Leave a Reply

