Life Stuff

Dealing with Disappointment

Most people don’t enjoy talking about their shortcomings. But maybe if you talk about them you can overcome them? I don’t know. I probably don’t know what I’m talking about. But I’m going to talk about something that I have a hard time with.

Disappointment.

I’ve never been very good at dealing with disappointment. When I was younger, it was much worse. If you were to ask my mom or dad about what would happen if I didn’t get my way, they would be happy to tell you, I threw fits. But they never gave in to it. They always stood their ground. So I eventually stopped throwing fits. But the gut feeling of sadness and disappointment never went away. As I get older, the disappointments become more important than whether or not I get to watch the movie that I want to watch.

Some people can say “it is what it is” and move on but I have a really hard time giving up and letting go. Depending on the situation, I can usually get over things pretty quickly. But there are certain instances where I just literally cannot get past it. I eventually learn to deal with it but it takes me a lot longer than it seems to take most people. I often become passive aggressive. It’s definitely something that I’ve been working on my whole life. And it’s something that has gotten significantly better the older I get. But sometimes I still feel like a little kid. And I get frustrated with myself because I want to get over it and move on, but it is physically difficult for me to do so.

What do you do when you have to deal with some sort of disappointment in your life? Any tips would be fantastic and greatly appreciated :)

Until tomorrow, dear BFs!

2 thoughts on “Dealing with Disappointment”

  1. Mmmm a tough one certainly. What I sometimes find is that it helps to break down the disappointment. When something hasn’t worked or something hasn’t happened sometimes we lump it all together into one big disappointment. I try to pull it apart a bit – did it all go wrong, or was it just that bit, were there some successes in there to hold on to. Life is complex and so it makes sense to think about our disappointment as complicated an complex too. Have a closer look, you might find some positive stuff in there. It’s always worth a try, isn’t it?

    Jacqueline

  2. Emily, I could not agree more, and I am exactly the same way. Especially when the outcome or the cause of the disappointment was out of my control. When it is my fault, or having to do with my ability, I have a much easier time saying that I’ll do better next time. When other people let me down, or hurt me, etc. I have a VERY hard time moving past it, and I feel like I am the only one that is hurt from it. I have no words to help you figure it out, but I am definitely right there with you, if that makes it any better! Love you much, and if you ever figure out the answer, please share!!

Leave a Reply

