Movie Reviews

The Guard

I recently went to see “The Guard” with David. It was an impromptu movie-going experience so I didn’t really have any expectations as to what movie I was going to see. So when we chose The Guard, it was mainly just because it was playing at the movie theatre we decided to go to and because it was at the time we were there. But let me just say, BOY am I glad that’s what we saw! The movie  basically follows the life of a policeman in Ireland throughout one of the cases he is trying to solve. It’s a very humorous movie although it has a fairly serious plot line. Brendan Gleeson, Sergeant Gerry Boyle, does such a good job with the portrayal of his character. And his comedic timing is splendid! Don Cheadle co-stars with Gleeson as a FBI agent visiting from America to solve the “half-billion drug deal” that is in the works. It was written and directed by John Michael McDonagh and it’s definitely intended for a mature(er) audience since they say the f-word about ever six seconds. However, because they say it in their Irish accents, it doesn’t sound so naughty! By the end of the movie I was so much in love with the Sergeant Gerry Boyle and was rooting for him to find the bastards! ‘scuse my French, but it’s definitely appropriate.

Very good movie overall. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a good laugh.

What I liked about the movie: The first scene. And it doesn’t disappoint from there.
What I didn’t like about the movie:
Can’t think of anything at this moment.
My favorite part of the movie:
Sergeant Gerry Boyle
Would I see this movie again:
Yes. 
Would I suggest this movie to friends:
 Already have!

Rating: 
Until next time, fellow BFs!
Leave a Reply

