Movie Reviews

Paranormal Activity 3

I love scary movies. I don’t like gore. I like to be startled. I used to like the Saw movies until they became ridiculously out of hand. Eventually they just became too much and it was like they were just trying to figure out how to top the last movie gore-wise. But I digress. When I went to see Paranormal Activity (the first), I was scared to death. Scared to the point where it was difficult for me to sleep. Not because it’s a terrifying movie. But because of all the things that happen to them at night that they don’t even realize. I started to think “what’s happening to me at night when I’m not aware….?” and I have a really active imagination so you can only imagine what I came up with. I watched it again once it came out on DVD and realized that it wasn’t as scary as I thought it was. I also realized that the main reason it was so scary was because of the low grumbling sounds during the scary things happening. And when you’re watching it at home, the low grumbling sounds are not as prominent.

Paranormal Activity 2 came out and I decided to go see it – just ’cause. It wasn’t AS scary. I definitely thought the first one was a lot scarier. However, I loved how they tied the first story into the second one and they connected fairly well. Good job, director/writer!

So I decided that I had to see Paranormal Activity 3 because I have seen the first two and, as any other OCD person would attest to, you really don’t have a choice in the matter at that point. So I went! Will went with me! I told him that he wasn’t allowed to be mean about how un-scary it is because he didn’t really find the second one scary at all. The third movie also connects very well to the second and the first. It’s a little bit more far-fetched than the first and second movies. The first one was fairly believable. The second stretched a little outside of the realm of possibilities and the third one (at least at the end) was pretty far outside my believable-circle.

One thing that really was interesting to me was that the movie was set in the 80s. But, if you didn’t know that, you wouldn’t have guessed that. Why? Because apparently fashion-wise, we (the US) is back in the 80s. Not that I mind whatsoever! Just an interesting fact!

What I liked about the movie: I like that I paid to get startled and was startled several times.
What I didn’t like about the movie:
It was slow at times.
My favorite part of the movie:
I liked that it tied into the first and second one. 
Would I see this movie again:
Yes; but not in theaters.
Would I suggest this movie to friends:
Yes; but not if you’re easily scared.

I give this one 3 1/2 stars only because it’s not really the BEST movie. Doesn’t have a great plot. But, I am not paying for the plot necessarily when I go see these movies. I really just want to be startled. And it did a really great job in that sense.

Rating: 

2 thoughts on “Paranormal Activity 3”

Leave a Reply

