Life Stuff

Top Five for January 2012

I know I haven’t been the best blogger. In fact, I’m probably one of the worst bloggers in the world right now. Hmm…actually now that I think of it, I probably am not the worst blogger…but you get the point.

Since so many things have happened, I’m going to give you the run down. Top five best things that happened in January. (And just let me say, no matter how hard I tried…I could NOT get the formatting to look the way I wanted. Every time I published it, it changed again. Ugh)

I got Ingrid Michaelson’s new CD “Human” – in stores/Amazon/iTunes now. It’s a great CD! I really love her a lot.

 I started  directing an All-Sing group. If you don’t know what All-Sing is, it’s basically where fraternity, sorority, and other organizations  get together and work up a medley of songs  for a performance at the end of the month. I didn’t really know what to expect at the beginning but I LOVE IT. It’s so much fun! It’s definitely a challenge but in a good way. I love the guys and gals that I’m directing. Hopefully they don’t think I’m too stupid! I’ve been standing on tables and chairs and all kinds  of things. Oh well..you gotta do what you gotta do!

I lost ten pounds! Last semester I kind of fell off the wagon with my exercise regimen so I’ve started working out again with what little free-time I have. Hopefully I’ll stick to my guns this semester. I’ve gotta look good when I go to Ireland this summer! ;-) Plus, since I lost 20 pounds last year, my goal this year is to lose 20 more. That will put me at my goal weight. And I have a year to do it and am already half-way there! Here goes nothin’!

This isn’t necessarily a “best thing” that happened in January. But I found Autumn a good home with kids for her to play with. It was definitely pretty sad. I didn’t want to do it but I felt so bad for her sitting in her crate all day with me being so busy. So I know it’s for the best and I’m sure she loves having little kids to play with. She’s much happier where she is now!

And the number one coolest thing that happened in January…

I started my second semester of graduate school. And when I say “started” I mean “hit the ground running.” I was given a piece before Christmas break to work on and when we got back for Spring semester, we had three rehearsals to work the piece up from sight-reading to performance-ready. Which was intense. And a learning experience for sure. Along these same lines, I conducted for the first time in a performance setting! That was awesome. A tad nerve-wracking. And really exciting. And my mom, dad, and brother came up to see it! Super awesome. Now that that performance is done, we’ve got to move on…the next several weeks will be pretty intense. We’re starting Messiah rehearsals. Yaaay…..

Until next time, fellow BFs!
Leave a Reply

