Life Stuff

Let Me Explain

It’s been a while. I know. I think there are a few reasons for my lack-o-blogging in the past few months.

1. School

Holy heck. I never knew it would be so busy. I can’t believe that my first year of graduate school is done. It FLEW by…and when I think back on the past eight months…I can’t even really remember what all happened. All I know is that I’m a half-master. That’s what I’m telling everyone. I had a lot of great experiences this year. I got to conduct some pieces from Handel’s Messiah this semester in rehearsal, I conducted the Women’s Chorale in a performance of Purcell’s Sound the Trumpet (you can listen to the recording here), and I continued working with reVOLution all semester.

Speaking of reVOLution. I’m so proud of that group of girls. I have to say I pushed them really hard this semester to learn a lot of music! Not only was it a lot of music, it was also pretty difficult stuff! And they not only learned it, they kicked it’s ass. Pardon my French. I’m really blessed to have been a part of that experience this semester and I can’t WAIT for next semester to see what we can work up then! You can listen to a recording of us here. And you should DEFINITELY go to our Facebook page and Like us! Spread the a cappella word around, peeps!

Image

2. Work

February sucked. Work-wise. I was really bogged down with auditions and I didn’t have time for anything other than school and work. It was terrible. And crazy. And that’s all I’m gonna say about it. Because it all worked out in the end. Even though it was stressful beyond belief. I’m still alive. And that’s what matters.

3. Relationship Status Change

I know this is probably a stupid reason for not blogging. But I wasn’t sure how to break the word to my family of blog followers. Most of my blog followers have probably already heard but…Will and I broke up over Thanksgiving. It was a mutual break-up and a very friendly one at that! We just realized that we were nothing more than friends and that we shouldn’t really pretend that we’re something else anymore. We still gig together, we still talk, and we still are great friends. If a break-up could’ve gone any better…it wouldn’t be a break-up. I’m really happy with the way things turned out and I think he is too. It’s just awkward to have to talk about.

4. Relationship Status Change…again

In February, I started singing with a small jazz ensemble at UT. One of the guys in my ensemble started talking to me over Facebook within the first couple weeks of rehearsals and we really hit it off. I’ve never hit it off with someone so quickly. So, we started talking, went on a couple of dates, and by March we were officially dating. His name is Boone and we’re really happy.

Image

So that’s a few of the reasons why I haven’t blogged recently. Hopefully now that it’s summer, I’ll be able to spend more time blogging. Plus I’m going on several different trips this summer (one to Canada, and one to Ireland) and I’m hoping to use my blog as a travel-journal! Which should be fun!

Until next time, fellow BFs! And thanks for stickin’ around!

2 thoughts on “Let Me Explain”

  1. It sounds like you have had a very eventful year on all fronts! I enjoyed reading about it.I especially appreciated your remarks regarding your friendship with Will. I look forward to hearing about the trips you are taking this summer. I also look forward to seeing where your wonderful talent takes you!!

Leave a Reply

