Book Reviews

I Suck At Girls

I guess that may be a truth-fact, sir. But I’m not really trying to “be awesome” at girls. So on with the show (or book review in this case).

My latest reading adventure takes place inside I Suck at Girls. I have to say, first and foremost, that I judge books by their covers. I know it’s bad and that I shouldn’t do it. But I do. Please forgive me. But if you want me to read your books then make the cover art interesting.

Needless to say, the cover of this book drew me in. And then when I opened to a random page to the quote “Let me drink a few more beers and then we’ll make out, okay?” it was almost a home run. The icing on the cake was when I realized this book was written by the same author as Sh*t My Dad Says. I haven’t read that book yet (I’m actually in the process of reading it right now because I Suck At Girls was so good) but I knew that I wanted to. Thus began my quest.

You all know I don’t read. I’ve always wanted to be a reader but I can never remember what I read so I always get really discouraged. I finished this book in two days. Granted, it’s not a very long book and someone who reads more frequently than I will probably finish it in a day or so. But still…it was an accomplishment for me!

The book begins with Justin taking his dad out to lunch to let him know that he is getting ready to propose to his girlfriend of four years. Justin is expecting an excited response from his father. When his father’s response is less-than-satisfactory, Justin seems a little upset. His dad response with “You’ve been dating her for four years, it ain’t like you found a parallel f****** universe!”. Justin proceeds to explain how he is slightly nervous about proposing and that he doesn’t know if he’s doing the right thing. His dad proceeds with a piece of advice. He tells Justin to think back as early as he can to all the things that happened in his life  and everything he’s learned from girls, relationships, and life before he makes his decision. The story continues with flashbacks from Justin’s past relationships.

This was my first read of the summer and I’m sure glad it was! I would recommend this book to everyone. Just be ready…Justin’s dad is a no-holds barred type of guy. Be prepared.

Tomorrow I will continue with my Canadia postings!

Until then, my fellow BFs!

Leave a Reply

