Life Stuff, Musical Experiences

You Say Canada, I Say Canadia – Days 6 and 7

This morning, we got up and ventured to the Royal Ontario Museum. I always love going to museums because it’s a fun way to look into the past. I spent the majority of my time looking at the dinosaurs. And the gift shop.

I wasn’t a huge fan of the museum. But it was definitely interesting to walk around and look at the exhibits! One funny thing…I saw this in the armor exhibit.

This is when I remembered that I was in Canada.

After we left the museum, we began our journey to Niagara Falls. I’ve been once before. But it was in the winter. Right before it got dark. So I don’t remember much. But this trip…I will definitely remember.

The falls were gorgeous! I was so excited to go on the Maid of the Mist Boat Tour!

After the Maid of the Mist, we had about an hour to walk around. We saw the Rainbow Bridge where you can stand in both countries at once and we tried to go but we couldn’t because we didn’t have our passports on us. Which is unfortunate because that would’ve been an awesome picture. The rest of Niagara Falls is kinda like a touristy-Gatlinburg type of place. Not as pretty…

After we loaded the bus, we got ready to cross the border from Canada to the US. Everyone got their passports out and we prepared to cross. There was a bus sitting in front of us and as we were waiting, all of a sudden we see a federal agent take off running toward the border. Everyone on the bus stood up and it was really hard to see what was happening. All that we could tell was there was an Asian holding up a camera or a phone and running back from the border. We don’t know if he was trying to take a picture or what. But after the first federal agent took off, eight others took off after him. They all came back smiling and laughing so apparently it wasn’t something too crazy. But it was awesome/hilarious to see that guy running so fast. Good work, Mr. Federal Agent, good work.

At the border!

This border crossing was a tad more interesting. They made us get off the bus and checked our passports individually. I think the kids liked that we had to get off the bus. It seemed more official. Still a pretty easy border crossing though! I bet crossing the border from Mexico to the US is slightly more entertaining.

As soon as we crossed the border, not even a minute after, all the kids kept asking if it was okay for them to turn their data on their phone back on. It was hilarious. After having been without a phone for three days they couldn’t wait two more minutes to be sure it was safe! They HAD to turn their phones back on. I rather enjoyed not having Facebook, e-mail, or Words with Friends to tie me back to reality. But I’m also not a teenager with those urges.

Friday was a driving day. All day long. We woke up, ate breakfast at the hotel, packed the bus, and headed home. We drove, and drove, and drove, and stopped in Cincinnati for lunch, and drove, and drove, and drove. Finally, we made it back to Knoxville. And I got to see Boone and Solstice! Boone and I exchanged travel journals and told all kinds of stories about the week we had.

Travel journals!

I have to say, it was a really awesome trip! Thanks, Tim :)

Until next time, fellow BFs!

2 thoughts on “You Say Canada, I Say Canadia – Days 6 and 7”

Leave a Reply

