Book Reviews

$#*! My Dad Says

After reading I Suck at Girls  it only seemed logical to read the first book Justin Halpern wrote $#*! My Dad Says . I have to say, it was just as hilarious as I Suck at Girls.  Halpern first started a Twitter account because some of his friends encouraged him to document the things his dad said on a daily basis. It started with just a few followers and now has over three million followers. Halpern describes, in his book, that he was scared to tell his dad how much publicity he was getting. He was receiving offers from TV networks, book publishers, etc because of the hilarious things his dad was saying. And thus begun…

Unlike I Suck at Girls,  this book documents different life stories starting from when he was a kid and continuing until he’s an adult. My favorite part of this book was at the end of each chapter there were six or seven random quotes from his dad such as “On My First Day of Kindergarten – “You thought it was hard? If kindergarten is busting your ass, I got some bad news for you about the rest of life.” Like I Suck at Girls, this book was a quick read and very enjoyable. What’s incredible to me is that within a span of a year, Justin Halpern went from being an unemployed couch-potato to a best-selling author because of this book.

I read one blogger who states “If you’re offended by the title, you’ll be offended by the book…don’t bother picking it up.” That’s a very true statement. As with I Suck at Girls, this book is just as forward and, at times, crude. Entertaining nonetheless!

Until next time, fellow BFs!

Leave a Reply

