Life Stuff, Pinterest Experiments

Pinterest Experiments: DIY Pore Strips

You know those Biore pore strips that you can purchase at any local drug store? I’m not sure why but I have a slight obsession with them. It’s actually a little embarrassing to admit but I love to use them–even though removing them might be the most painful thing I’ve ever experienced. I like being able to see that I got grossness off of my face. And it’s very satisfying throwing that grossness away!

biore-pore-strips

So when I saw a DIY for Biore pore strips on Pinterest I was excited that I could potentially spend less than $2 and have a larger supply of the strips. If you haven’t seen the DIY, it’s really easy to do.

*note* the original instructions call for a tablespoon of each but I had way too much left over. So take it down a few notches unless you have a ginormous face

Instructions:

gelatin and milk

1/2 Tablespoon of unflavored gelatin
1/2 Tablespoon of milk

1. Mix ingredients together
2. Heat in microwave for 10 seconds
3. Spread it on your face and leave it for 15 minutes (or until the mask is entirely stiff)
4. Remove mask and wash face! (I used lotion with Vitamin E in it afterward as well)

Seriously. It’s so difficult to do. The whole 10 seconds in the microwave I was like “I don’t even know how I’m going to…oh it’s done.”

I didn’t take any pictures because you can Google other people who have tried it and look and their unmakeup-ed face. Plus I kind of just forgot. But here is what I have determined.

A) The mixture kind of smells weird. Like a wet dog. Especially when you first open the microwave after heating it up. I was not a fan of the smell. Not even a little bit. But! The smell goes away as it cools down.

2) It was a really simple recipe to follow and really easy mask to put on.

iii) As the mask was drying, it felt like what I imagine that Botox feels like. I literally couldn’t move my face. It was hilarious. And even more hilarious that I couldn’t laugh about it.

Before you go spreading this mask on all of your friends’ faces, let me warn you about at least one thing. Do not I repeat Do Not put this mixture on your eyebrows or anywhere close to your eyes or hair-line. Wanna know why? Here’s why…

After the mask is completely dry, you’re apparently supposed to begin peeling it off of your face. Remember when I said that peeling the Biore strips off my face was one of the most painful experiences of my life? I take it back. I take it back so many times. And I apologize to Biore and her ancestors for when I cursed their name whilst peeling of her strips. Because this DIY is more painful than the strips. Mainly because I’m pretty sure that this mask is basically the equivalent to waxing your entire face. Literally…your entire face. So if you accidentally get some on your eyebrows…or your hair…you will definitely be losing some hair. So if you need to wax your entire face so that you will be hair-free and black-head free, I would recommend one of two things.

1) Only put the mask on your nose/chin/wherever you need to remove blackheads
2) Suffer through having blackheads or use whatever method you are currently using to remove them.

I really don’t think that putting the mask on my entire face was worth it. It took around 45 minutes to get the entire mask off and I eventually just had to wash the rest of it off because my face was begging for mercy.

All that being said, my face does feel very smooth and it did remove the few blackheads that I have. I usually don’t have many blackheads but I feel the dirt and grime that is usually on my face is all gone! Try it out on a small part of your face before you do your whole face. I promise it works. But you need to realize what you’re getting yourself into before you dive right in.

Until next time, fellow BFs!

(Also, if you are a professor who is wondering why I’m not working on my comps, you should know that I wrote this post before my comps questions were given to me and had it scheduled to post on Monday. Don’t you worry.)

2 thoughts on “Pinterest Experiments: DIY Pore Strips”

  1. Thanks for this post! I never get anything with Biore strips, but my boyfriend is a different story. I’m so doing this to him!

Leave a Reply

