Life Stuff

Weekend Wrap-up

This is the first weekend wrap-up I’ve done in a while. This is how it feels to have free time. And it’s wonderful. Boone and I slept in on Saturday. I never get to sleep in! When I woke up at 11:15am, I realized Boone was pretty much already dressed in his cycling outfit — ready to go for a ride. Unfortunately, it was raining. Hard. Florida-type rain. If you’ve ever been to Florida, you know what I’m talking about. So we waited around until it stopped raining. And as soon as it did, you better believe we were out on the road. We decided to go out to House Mountain. Boone mapped out a ride from my apartment to House Mountain and back. It ended up being 47.5 miles.

 

Screen Shot 2013-05-13 at 1.21.31 AM
The route we took from my apartment to House Mountain

 

Such a beautiful ride around House Mountain. Seeing baby animals and riding bikes with a wonderful man.

All in all, it took us about 4 hours of straight riding and a little over 5 hours of being out on the ride. We came back and cleaned up and decided to go out to dinner to Outback Steakhouse. My mom sent us a gift certificate so we could go out and have a nice dinner. When we got to Outback, we both sat down in the booth and all but collapsed. We were both exhausted. That’s the longest ride we’ve done since Christmas. We were supposed to ride 83 miles last weekend at the 3 State 3 Mountain ride but because of the weather, we all stopped early. It was just too cold and rainy and dangerous. In fact, unfortunately someone lost their life on that ride. It’s so sad that something that was supposed to be for fun turned into such a tragedy for that family. After dinner, we came back and pretty much crashed immediately. I’m really sad that I missed Kristen Wiig hosting the last episode of Saturday Night Live this season. I guess I’ll have to Hulu it later.

Sunday morning, I sang at both services — as per usual. This morning was Senior Sunday (where they recognize all the Seniors in high school). It was a pretty amazing Sunday morning. It got me thinking back to when I was a senior in high school. It’s hard to believe that was almost ten years ago! I think one of my favorite quotes from one of the seniors who spoke this morning is “The best place to see God first-hand is through the hearts of those who put themselves last.”

After church, we got to go out to eat with his mom, dad, and brother, and sister-in-law. It was a delicious lunch and even better company. After that, we went over to Boone’s grandmother’s house to celebrate Mother’s Day with his family. All the mother’s on his side of the family were there! When we left, we came back to our apartment (CAUSE IT’S OUR APARTMENT NOW!!! Sorry…sometimes I still have freak outs that we’re married!) and started to watch more episodes of Fringe. As of right now, we’re on Season 3. I’m pretty sure we watched almost 10 episodes … possibly more … It’s so captivating that we couldn’t go to bed . It was constantly “just one..more..episode…”

I love when a show does that to me!

I’m thinking that we’re going to finish the series within the week. I’ll keep you updated.

Until next time, fellow BFs!

Leave a Reply

