Life Stuff

Weekend Recap

Well, this weekend was supposed to be Biketoberfest! But…it rained all day Saturday and Boone and I have had enough of the whole riding-in-the-rain thing. So we decided to go to Cedar Rapids to a little street-area called Newbo. 

Image

 

There’s a city market, and a volunteer-run bike shop, and a giant chalkboard where you can write about what you want to do before you die. 

Image

 

Oh yeah, I forgot to tell you about the accident that I had on my bike on Friday. So, for those of you who don’t know, my old bike likes to change gears on me while I’m going up hills. Which, if you’ve ever ridden a bike, is not the best time for an unplanned gear change. I was heading up one of the two hills on campus and the gears changed on me and my foot slipped off the pedal, which in turn caused my shoe to come off, which in turn caused my foot to hit the metal pedal really hard and it scraped my foot up pretty badly. It hurts to walk on but it will be fine. However, I decided that it was time to trade up to a new-old bike. Boone and I decided to go to Newbo Bike Collective — a non-profit bike shop run by volunteers! These volunteers will also help and teach you how to fix your bike. For free! And they have some used bikes for sale. 

I test drove a few bikes before settling on a 1984 World Class Schwinn. Which is an upgrade from my 1972 Schwinn! I’ll take a picture of it soon and post it. 

Afterward, since it was still raining, we brought the bike back to the house and dropped it off, then we went to the mall so Boone could get a haircut. And boooyyy did he need it! 

After his haircut, we came back to the house and I did some homework while Boone read some of his book. We took a break and went to the grocery store for our groceries for Saturday night and Sunday (since the store isn’t open on Sundays). We came back and made a delicious dinner and watched the season premier of Law and Order: SVU — can you believe it’s been on for 15 seasons?

This morning, I woke up and went to handbell rehearsal, sang at the 10:30 service, went to lunch with Boone, and then went to a study session for my psychology exam that is on Wednesday. When I came home, Boone had already started the laundry and I tried to finish up some of my studying for psychology. I decided to make some muffins for breakfast this week. I found the recipe on Pinterest and it doesn’t call for any sugar — you can click here for the recipe. I added some cranberries to mine!

Image

 

After they finished baking, I got on my bike for 30 minutes or so. And now I’m writing this! It’s been a good weekend but I am not ready for the week to start again. It seems like it just ended!

Until next time, fellow BFs. I’ll leave you with this video. One of my friends introduced me to this dude today.

Leave a Reply

