Life Stuff

My Husband is Hilarious

Every day I receive an e-mail from Boone letting me know about the happenings of his day. It’s one of the highlights of my day because since we go from around 7:30am-7:30pm (usually later) without seeing each other, it reminds me that he is still a (hilarious) part of my life and that I get to go home to him later! Usually these e-mails are fairly normal stuff like day-to-day experiences and what’s going on at work. But this past Tuesday was our 7th month celebration of marriage. I don’t say “anniversary” because my friend Carolyn (whose blog you can check out here) would argue that it’s not an anniversary. We’ve been married seven months and still love each other. Whoop-dee-doo! I tried to find her Facebook post where she says this — but I couldn’t.

ANYways…so last Tuesday was our celebration of marriage. The e-mail from Boone was hilarious so I thought I would share it with you guys. At first, I started reading it in a very busy cafeteria type thing but I started laughing so hard that I had to stop reading it because people were staring.

A little backstory first. At some point in our relationship one of us slipped up when saying ‘honey’ and accidentally said ‘hanni’ so it’s become a thing. Which obviously turned “anniversary” into “hanniversary”. Also, at the beginning of the e-mail he says that I ruined the theme of the e-mail. It’s because I texted him happy hanniversary. (But don’t tell Carolyn or else she’ll think we’re silly.)

Enjoy.

“You ruined today’s theme. Not really ruined I guess but definitely spoiled the surprise. It’s our 7 month Hanniversary. Yes, spell-check, that is a word. Webster’s Dictionary defines the Hanniversary as a noun from the Latin roots “hanni” meaning “dearly loved one” – “anno” meaning “year” – “verse” meaning “part of a song” and “ary” meaning “song birds”. Roughly the word means: “A celebration of life with a dearly loved one who will be yours for many years to come. The Hanniversary includes (but is not limited to) singing and a release of songbirds from captivity.” Ancient Romans celebrated the Hanniversary by having lavish meals and extensive week long celebrations. Interestingly enough, early Roman Hanniversaries inspired the Greeks to begin practicing the act of Hanniversary which is what subsequently led to what we now know as The Olympic Games. Hanniversaries did not begin with the Romans and Greeks, however. There are early cave paintings of pre-literate cultures partaking in song and dance. Also, ancient Egyptian hieroglyphs reveal that on a sacred day in the Egyptian calendar known as “Hanno Vasso” the construction of the pyramids was completed. To celebrate this massive undertaking, a spectacular fireworks display was put on over the pyramids. This fireworks display coincided with the release of thousands of songbirds. The fireworks were later regarded as a poor choice as many of the birds were exploded and the mood quickly became rather somber. The Egyptians created the Sphinx in honor of the birds who perished on the first “Hanno Vasso”. The words “Semper Ubbi Sub Ubbi” are inscribed underneath the bellybutton of the Sphinx. Roughly translated this means “let us never forget the fallen birds.” This is one possible explanation for why “flipping the bird” is considered such an insult in today’s society.”

I won’t bore you with all the sweet, lovey-dovey stuff that he wrote at the end. But I thought you’d probably enjoy learning about the origins of ‘hanniversary.’

Until next time, fellow BFs

2 thoughts on “My Husband is Hilarious”

  1. Ha! It’s ok. I don’t think you’re silly. :) You know you’re going to call it a hanniversary from here on out, right? :P

Leave a Reply

