Life Stuff

Vegeterian Experiences

As part of my 26 Things To Do Before 27 I chose to try eating vegetarian for a month. And since I’m a good wife, I decided to try this during the shortest month of the year. We are nearing the end of the month and I’ve gotta say, it hasn’t been as difficult as I thought it would be!

Good-Points-Of-Being-A-Vegetarian

We’ve tried some really delicious recipes like…

Broccoli Cheddar Pie!

and

Thai Quinoa Salad with Ginger Dressing!

We also discovered that Boone is allergic to cashews. So lame, right? I mean I guess we don’t eat cashews enough for that to really make an impact on our lives. However we tried two different meals with cashews in them. He did not handle those well. Now we know.

We tried some of MorningStar Farm’s meat-less varieties. We are fans of the “Chick Patties” but definitely did not like the MorningStar Farm Meal Starters. It was basically an imitation of ground beef. The main ingredient was “vegetable protein”. We made sloppy joes with them. I called them meatless joes. They weren’t the best meal we had all month. Not the worst, either! We tried a lentil dish that we did not like. There were many different flavors that we were just not used to all in one dish and that did not equal an exiting new food experience. It turned into us debating which pizza place we should order from.

I know people usually decide to eat vegetarian because of health concerns or morality issues. I just wanted to try it! And it was fun! Now that March is here, I haven’t decided whether I’m going to go back or not! Thus far, I’ve stayed vegetarian. You may say “Emily, it’s March 1st…you’re not conquering any huge mountains yet.” But Boone has already had meat today. So I’ve made a conscious choice not to eat meat today. We’ll see how the rest of the day goes. And whether or not I’ll continue!

I do have to say that this video definitely made me think twice about eating beef.

What are your thoughts on vegetarianism?

Until next time, BFs!

Leave a Reply

