Life Stuff, Travel

“Spring” “Break”

I know it’s spring. My mind knows it’s spring. But Mother Nature seems to still believe that we need snow. So, it’s not spring. I’m still wearing my heavy down jacket that pokes me with feathers everyday. I can’t wait until I can put the top down on my Jeep and drive around with the doors off!

But I digress…last week was “spring” “break”. They are both in quotations, as you can plainly see, because it was neither spring, nor break. It was break at the end of the week when Boone and I went to Chicago, but I’ll get there soon enough. Don’t rush me!

During the first half of the week, I worked at the hospital as I usually do and still had to (I guess I should say “got to”) teach lessons. Monday night was St Paddy’s Day so we went out and celebrated with some friends. Unfortunately the bar that we went to did not sell green beer, much to Boone’s dismay. He did get to play darts though! As did I. I’m not good at darts. Terrible things happen when I play darts. People lose limbs and eyes. And I’ll hit the occasional bulls eye accidentally.

20140324-093924.jpgTuesday we finally got the piano tuned! It was in dire need. There were several keys that would play at least two different pitches at the same time. It’s an old piano so it doesn’t sound great now. But it definitely sounds better than it did.

20140324-094214.jpgWednesday was the start of me not feeling well. Which is part of the reason I say it wasn’t a “break” because it’s no fun to be sick over a break from school! I had a voice lesson in the morning and went back to sleep on the couch for the remainder of the day. That evening I was tummy-sick and kept praying that it would go away before we left. I also managed to get Boone’s oil changed so that we could leave for Chicago Thursday evening. I made it through the drive to Chicago and we went out to dinner that night. Thus started the beginning of the actual break and the celebration of our first year of marriage!

On Friday, we decided since it was warm(er than it was going to be the rest of the weekend) that we would do all the outside activities like walking around Michigan Avenue and such.

20140324-094653.jpg

20140324-094704.jpg

We decided to stop into Water Tower place to see what all the excitement was. And we immediately discovered the wonderful world of Legos! Pretty cool to see the Chicago sky line built out of Legos.

20140324-094719.jpgBoone was definitely right in his element in the Lego store. He played nicely with the other kids. Unless they tried to take his Legos away. Then there was bloodshed. (Not really…)

20140324-094750.jpg

For lunch, we heard that Lou Malnati’s was the best pizza in town, so of course we had to stop there and try it! And I have to say…daaaang. That was some good pizza. Plus, we got to eat while sitting on a leather couch! I felt like Gaston.

20140324-094803.jpg

20140324-094814.jpg

The traditional gift for the first anniversary is paper and the modern gift is time pieces. Boone decided to go for the modern gift this year. This is Boone’s new watch! I decided to go for paper and he got me tickets to see Lake Street Dive on Tuesday!

20140324-094823.jpg

We continued our walk around the town for the rest of the day. We went in to see Fourth Presbyterian Church by recommendation of Edna Mae. It reminded me of Church Street and made me miss my friends back home.

20140324-094837.jpg

Here is Boone waiting for the subway. Which we took the wrong direction. We started noticing the clothing of the people getting on and off the subway and realized that we were probably headed toward to bad part of town. So we quickly got off at the next stop and headed back the way we came. More time on the subway. Yaaaaay!

20140324-094845.jpg

For our fancy anniversary dinner we decided to go to the Signature Room at the top of the Hancock Tower. 95 floors up! It was a tad overpriced but worth the view for sure. Plus, the dessert was phen-om-en-al. And let’s be honest, that’s really what we all enjoy the most.

20140324-094856.jpg

20140324-094915.jpg

20140324-094923.jpgOn Saturday we woke up a little later than anticipated and headed down to breakfast at Magnolia Bakery. One of my friends told me that they had a banana pudding that is to die for. And she was right. Seriously, the best banana pudding I’ve ever tasted in my entire life. One the way to the bakery we stopped by the Chicago theatre! It was slightly colder than we had anticipated so we also stopped and got Boone a Chicago hat. We wouldn’t be tourists without one.

20140324-104420.jpg

20140324-104430.jpg

20140324-104451.jpg

20140324-105114.jpgAfter our unbelievably delicious breakfast at Magnolia Bakery, we went to yet another tourist attraction–The Bean! It drove me a little crazy because there were a TON of fingerprints on the thing…

20140324-104528.jpgWe then decided to head North of Chicago to get a feel for the non-touristy attractions. And we just so happened upon a coffee-bike shop! You can drink your coffee while you get your bike worked on. Boone was in heaven.

20140324-104557.jpgSaturday night we got tickets to see the Blue Man Group. A really hilarious part of our evening because Boone wasn’t feeling well tummy-wise and there are a lot of really gross things in the show. I won’t ruin the show for you if you haven’t seen it. But we were in the “splash zone” and we definitely got splashed with…not water…

20140324-104609.jpg

And finally, we returned home to our hilarious cats on Sunday evening. It was a great trip and an exciting way to celebrate our first year of marriage! I can’t believe it’s already been a year.

20140324-104626.jpgAnd now we’re back in the saddle again. Hoping the second half of the semester goes by as quickly as the first.

Until next time, fellow BFs…Finley says adieu!

 

Leave a Reply

