Book Reviews

Gone Girl

Well it’s summer and that means that I have time to read things I actually want to read rather than things I have to read because for some reason I’ve decided to spend my entire life in school. And for this edition of Emily’s Book Corner blog post (which isn’t a thing…but…I guess it is now…), I will be discussing Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. BRB.

Gone Girl

Just kidding…get it? Cause Gone…okay, nevermind.

I have a difficult time with books that take a while to “get into” but this book immediately captured my attention–I was hooked from the first sentence and couldn’t put it down. At the end, I even turned the page and said “THAT’S IT?!” out loud. It is narrated by two characters, husband and wife, alternating chapter by chapter. Sometimes when books are written this way, it is hard to follow which character is doing what but the way Flynn wrote this novel, it is very easy to follow. Nick Dunne, the husband, tells his side of the story in a narrative fashion and Amy Elliot Dunne, the wife, recounts her story through flash-back diary entries. Amy mysteriously disappears on their fifth wedding anniversary. The crime scene shows signs of a struggle. The story follows the abduction and subsequent investigation into her disappearance.  Once the cops are involved, Nick is the prime suspect.

I won’t give anything away because I hate when people do that. Stupid spoilers. But I will say, Gone Girl will have you on the edge of your seat the entire time!

Go out and buy your copy today! And then come with me on October 3rd when the movie comes out with NEIL PATRICK HARRIS. You know you can’t resist!

Until next time, fellow BFs!

Leave a Reply

