Book Reviews

Peculiar Books

One of my 27 things before I turn 28 is to read 5 books and write book reviews for them. Well, I read Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children and the sequel Hollow City.

peculiar children

I know this is probably written for a younger crowd but since it was #1 on the New York Times Best Seller’s list, I decided to give it a try. One of the really neat things about these novels are all the pictures inside. So, if you’re going to read these books, don’t get the audio book, unless they show the pictures while they read to you. I’ve never listened to an audio book so I’m not sure how that works. Although, if they read to you and showed you the pictures like you were in Kindergarten again, I’d be all for that. “OOoo…aaahhhHH”

Anyways, so the first novel is the story of Jacob and his grandfather who tells these fantastical stories of children who levitate and are invisible. Of course, his family thinks he has lost his mind but you soon find out that these tales are true! Ransom Riggs does an amazing job at telling a story with so many twists and turns you never quite know which direction is up. Most of the time, I can predict and say “Oh, this is lame, I know what’s happening.” But with this story, everything was unexpected.

The second novel picks right up where the first novel left off. It’s hard to give an account of what happens in this book without giving away the things that happen in the first one so I’ll spare you the details. It will keep you interested til the very end!

How Ransom Riggs collected all the photographs and included them into these novels is a really neat story–he talks about it in both of his novels at the end.

I would give these books 4 stars! The writing is good quality (for a teenage fantasy novel) and they both kept my attention! And that’s difficult to do…I get distracted easily. Squirrel!

Until next time fellow BFs! Does this count as two book reviews? Probably not.

Leave a Reply

