Life Stuff

Life Updates: Why I’m Still a Student

I love the Timehop app. It takes me back. Today, my Timehop reminded me that two years ago, Boone and I said goodbye to Knoxville and hello to Iowa! Sometimes I think “Wow! Has it really been two years?!” and then other times I think “Wow, it’s only been two years?!” Moving away from everything we knew was difficult. But let’s face it, people do it every single day, so we knew we would make it. And we did! We made it and, dare I say, enjoy it? Iowa has become our home over the past two years. We made a life here, we settled into a routine here, we made friends, gained new family members we never knew we had. It’s been great! And when we moved from Knoxville we thought “Okay, it’s only for two years…” Well, obviously that two years has come and gone and you all know we’re not moving back quite yet. Let me tell you why.

Technically, my program is a 2-year program with an additional 6-month internship tacked on after for a total of 2.5 years. (You’re welcome, people who aren’t good at math.) Two years have come and gone and I have completed most of my master’s degree. Now, hang on to your hats because it’s about to get confusing. Because I didn’t have an undergraduate degree in music therapy, I had some additional courses that I had to take (which all students without an undergraduate degree in music therapy have to take when getting their master’s). Unfortunately, those additional courses didn’t line up well with my professor’s schedule which caused me to miss a seminar course in the fall semester of my first year that only she teaches. Then, in the spring, she went on sabbatical and didn’t teach the seminar, obviously, because she was on sabbatical. Well, for my degree, I need to take three of those seminar courses. If you’re still doing math (good for you), you’ll see that I only had two semesters left to take three seminar courses and that doesn’t add up. The (incredibly) long story short is, I still have one seminar class to take this coming fall semester. At first, I was really upset when I found out because, believe it or not, I’m ready to not be a student. But as time went on, it made me realize that I would have more time to work on my Capstone project (the big finale project that is similar to a thesis or recital) and more time to study for comprehensive exams so I think it all worked out in the end. I’ll finish up my coursework this semester and in January of 2016, I’ll start my 6-month internship at the University of Iowa Hospital and Clinics. A year from now, I’ll be completely finished with my degree (knock on wood) and will be a real life adult who goes to work and doesn’t have to study for anymore tests (knock on wood) except maybe the Board Certification Exam if I haven’t already taken that.

Now…ask me if I’m ready to go back to school and see my eyes roll back into my head.

Until next time, fellow BFs!

Leave a Reply

